Chief Minister of Bihar


 Chief Minister of Bihar - Shri Nitish Kumar

Tel: 0612-2223886, 2224784 (O). 2222079 (R)
Father's Name:Late Shri Kaviraj Ram Lakhan Singh
Mother's Name: Late Smt. Parmeshwari Devi
Date of Birth:1st March, 1951.
Place of Birth: Bakhtiarpur, District - Patna, State - Bihar.
Marital Status :Married.
Date of Marriage:22nd February, 1973.
Spouse's Name: Late Smt. Manju Kumari Sinha.
No. of Children : One.
Educational : B.Sc. (Engineering)
Qualifications  Educated at Bihar College of Engineering, Patna, Bihar.
Profession: Political & Social Worker, Agriculturist, Engineer.
Permanent Address  :Village - Hakikatpur, PO - Bakhtiarpur, District - Patna, Bihar.
Present Address: Patna, Bihar.
Positions Held   
1985-89: Member, Bihar Legislative Assembly.
1986-87 : Member, Committee on Petitions, Bihar Legislative Assembly.
1987-88: President, Yuva Lok Dal, Bihar.

Member, Committee on Public Undertakings, Bihar Legislative Assembly.

1989: Secretary-General, Janata Dal, Bihar.
1989: Elected to 9th Lok Sabha.
1989-16/7/1990: Member, House Committee (Resigned).
4/1990-11/1990: Union Minister of State, Agriculture and Co-operation.
1991: Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (2nd term).
1991-93: General-Secretary, Janata Dal.
Deputy Leader of Janata Dal in Parliament.
17/12/91-10/5/96: Member, Railway Convention Committee.
8/4/93-10/5/96: Chairman, Committee on Agriculture.
1996: Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (3rd term).
Member, Committee on Estimates.
Member, General Purposes Committee.
Member, Joint Committee on the Constitution (Eighty-first Amendment Bill, 1996).
1996-98: Member, Committee on Defence.
1998: Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (4th term).
19/3/98-5/8/99: Union Cabinet Minister, Railways.
14/4/98-5/8/99: Union Cabinet Minister, Surface Transport (additional charge).
1999: Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (5th term).
13/10/99-22/11/99: Union Cabinet Minister, Surface Transport.
22/11/99-3/3/00: Union Cabinet Minister, Agriculture.
3/3/00-10/3/00: Chief Minister, Bihar.
27/5/00-20/3/01: Union Cabinet Minister, Agriculture.
20/3/01-21/7/01: Union Cabinet Minister, Agriculture with additional charge of Railways.
22/7/01-21/5/04: Union Cabinet Minister, Railways.
2004: Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (6th term).
Member, Committee on Coal & Steel.
Member, General Purposes Committee.
Member, Committee of Privileges.
Leader Janata Dal (U) Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha.
24/11/2005-24/11/2010  Chief Minister, Bihar.
26/11/2010-17/05/2014  Chief Minister, Bihar.
From 22/02/2015  Chief Minister, Bihar
Countries Visited

Widely traveled in various capacities:

Singapore, Thailand.
Havana (Cuba) and Moscow (Russia) - as a member of Indian Delegation to the World Youth Festival in 1978.
Australia and France - as a Member of Indian Parliamentary Delegation to the IPU Conference.
France, Switzerland and UK - as the Railway Minister.
Japan - as the Agriculture Minister to attend Regional Conference of FAO in Yokohama.
Other Information
Activist of J.P. Movement (1974-77); was detained in 1974 under the Maintenance of Internal Security Act (M.I.S.A.) and also during Emergency in 1975; Founder-member, Samata Party Movement.